lady_t_220: (Default)
[personal profile] lady_t_220
So I'll freely admit I'm still trying to get to grips with the rediculous unexpectedness of yesterday's totally frickin' insane development.

My issues run thus-
Rationally, quite pleased. Job was needed, job is now achieved. It could potentially be an interesting job, it could potentially even be quite a good job.
BUT, as yet I do not know what hours/days this job will entail. I know it will be full time, but I do not know if this is a Mon-Fri kind of full time, a 5-days-in-7 full time, a 9-5:30 or more ad-hoc kind of full time. I just don't know. I don't know what the holiday entitlements are like beyond statutory. I don't know any of this and I won't know until Wednesday at the earliest. To be totally honest I don't even entirely know what the job entails beyond admin assistance, and I sort of got the impression that neither did she.

So I am at present veering wildly between "OK, I can do this, this could be ok..." and "Aaagh! Too many unknowns! Fear of change!" and a certain degree of pouting because I kind of like my indolent fandom life and don't really want to give it up, it's just that it doesn't bring in any money.
To a point, I do actually kind of resent having to go off and pretend to be a grown-up.

Also, the topping on the stress-cake, I have to drive there Wednesday and I really haven't driven anywhere in... a while. Not only that but it also includes the nastiest, most insanely busy roundabout ever, one that I usually try and avoid turning right at whenever humanly possible.

I would take the car out for a practice spin over the weekend but Mum&JR are taking it away with them over easter and they don't get back till Tuesday night. Which means I really only have today to find out where the hell I'm going... which I can't do at the moment either cause mum's got the car and she's at Kat's.

This car-sharing lark may prove problematic sooner rather than later. I've already had one shouty match with JR cause they were planning to go to some hollistic therapy whotnot meeting on Wednesday afternoon. He was all "Well I can drop you off in the morning..." Which is great and all but how the hell am I supposed to get home again? doubly so since I don't know how long I'll be there, or if I'll be there all day or only part of the day as there may be migration between office and clinic and house.
So he got all huffy and "Fine. You take it then," petulant tone at me. So I asked mum "Why, where were you planning to go?" and JR started shouting down the stairs "It doesn't matter now!" in a really sulky teenager voice. Kind of like on the cusp of door-slamming "I hate you! You don't understand me!" style teenage angst fumes.
I'm just like... gaah! I was only curious. And FFS man, you're almost 50, don't be giving me the teen wangst bullshit tone.
So there, add another to the plus column, if I save wisely and manage to last longer than my usual 9-months-before-I-get-too-bored-to-give-a-shit-any-more employment ceiling, maybe I'll be able to buy a shiny new-new car. Which would be nice.
I will be totes harassing my dear sibling for staff discount if that happens by the way.

Date: 2010-04-02 11:11 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] hobbit-chan.livejournal.com
I kinda thought it was your car anyhow? I know your Mum pays for the insurance and all that as you ran out of money. But you bought the damn thing.
If he stoped damn well buying rocks and saved up, he could ahve his owwwn car. ¬_¬

Date: 2010-04-02 11:43 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] lady-t-220.livejournal.com
He has his own car, but it's at Andy's being MOT'd.
The car is technically mums, she originally paid for it and it's been moved over to being her name for tax/insurance things so techncially it's *her* car.

Date: 2010-04-03 07:09 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] hobbit-chan.livejournal.com
Ooooh!
Right, so hes not gonna see that for some time then. >_

Date: 2010-04-03 08:11 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] lady-t-220.livejournal.com
HAHAHAHAHAHAHAH!

Date: 2010-04-02 06:59 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] simonthecat.livejournal.com
Oh yeah, I totally know where you're coming from. Starting a new job can be stressful at the best of times, but when you don't know what the job really entails, what the hours will be, or anything, it gets even more so.

Of course, idiots pointing out things like The Devil Wears Prada don't help any either...

I suppose saying "Relax, you'll do fine" would be pointless.

Best thing to do would be to take your mind off it entirely. Go do my Beat The Intro quiz. That'll distract you for a few minutes at least!

Oh, as I keep trying to explain to Connie, being the owner of a car and being the registered keeper of a car are two different things entirely in this country. I'm the registered keeper of both my new Suzi and Connie's Micra, but the finance company owns mine and Connie own's hers!

Date: 2010-04-02 07:04 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] lady-t-220.livejournal.com
I'm looking forward to the weekend, I have people staying over till Monday so at least there will be distractions. Which really only leaves me Monday evening and most of Tuesday to freak out in. *facepalm*

Yeah the car... was registered to me, is now registered to my mother and shared by me, has mostly been claimed by JR even though he has his own damn car he prefers stealing ours...

Date: 2010-04-02 11:01 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] tinhutlady.livejournal.com
I'm crossing my fingers that everything goes well for you, and I'll mentally send you a spork to poke JR with.

March 2022

S M T W T F S
  12345
678 9101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 08:08 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios